Fiduciary Rule blowback from customers

Rick Kahler recently reported that a J.D. Power survey showed that current clients of brokers are likely to leave when switched to fee-only accounts.  He envisioned a conversation like this:

Broker: “Because of the new DOL regulations I can no longer sell you a high fee and commission variable annuity to be owned by your IRA. To comply with the ruling, my company has eliminated the 7% upfront commission on this annuity; we will now charge you a 1% annual fee. They also reduced the annual management expenses from 3% to 1%. Plus, now any advice I give you or product I recommend must be in your best interests.”

Customer: “So you are eliminating the upfront 7% commission and replacing that with a 1% annual fee, which means 7% more of my money immediately goes to work for me in the investment, right?”

Broker: “That’s right.”

 

Customer:  “And instead of the upfront commission you are charging a new 1% annual fee, but reducing the annual management costs of the investments from 3% to 1%. So I’ll still make an additional 1% every year I own this, in addition to saving 7% up front, right?”

Broker: “That’s right.”

Customer: “And further, you’re now going to look out for my best interests rather than the best interests of your company.”

Broker: “Yep.”

Customer: “This is ridiculous. I’m outta here!”

Broker: “Where are you going?”

Customer: “To find a firm that will continue to sell me high commission, high fee products for my IRA and that will work against my best interests!”

Broker: “You probably won’t find any. Every financial company selling investment products to IRAs has to comply.”

Customer: “I’ll find someone, somewhere. Goodbye!”

I envision a conversation more like this:

Broker: “Because of the new DOL regulations I can no longer sell you a high fee and commission variable annuity to be owned by your IRA. To comply with the ruling, my company has eliminated the 7% upfront commission on this annuity; we will now charge you a 1% annual fee. They also reduced the annual management expenses from 3% to 1%. Plus, now any advice I give you or product I recommend must be in your best interests.”

Customer:  “So you’re telling me that for all these years, you have been taking a 7% cut right off the top, and charging me 3 times the expenses for no reason other than to take more of my  money and put it in your pocket??”

Broker: “ummmm…….”

Customer: “And further, you’ve never been out for my best interests, but rather the best interests of your company?”

Broker: “ummmm…….”

Customer: “This is ridiculous. I’m outta here!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Financial

Leave a Reply

