Fasting for Health

Interesting article in The Telegraph regarding health benefits of fasting.  It’s nearly 2 years old (June 2014).  After 3 days of fasting:

The researchers say fasting “flips a regenerative switch” which prompts stem cells to create brand new white blood cells, essentially regenerating the entire immune system.

“It gives the ‘OK’ for stem cells to go ahead and begin proliferating and rebuild the entire system,” said Prof Valter Longo, Professor of Gerontology and the Biological Sciences at the University of California.

“And the good news is that the body got rid of the parts of the system that might be damaged or old, the inefficient parts, during the fasting.

John Mauldin is also a fan of the concept.  He uses the fasting mimicking diet.  Anecdotally:

I’ve been trying this approach for a little while, and it’s clearly helping. My traveling lifestyle isn’t very conducive to a normal diet structure, but I can generally find five days a month when I can reduce my calories. I’m slowly dropping my weight back to where I want it to be…

idk if I could manage to pull this off…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

