Facebook Rant

Ok, I admit it, I don’t want to post this on FB because I don’t want to piss off all my friends.  There is really no point in posting it there anyway.  It won’t make anyone any more thoughtful, and probably no one would read it all anyway.  No one will read it here either, but at least it’s out of my head.

#1 – I did not turn out to be an awesome person due to regular beatings throughout childhood.  In fact, my parents NEVER beat me and I think I turned out just fine.  Not perfect.  There is no way that I will ever agree with anyone that thinks the answer to society’s problems is more beating of children.  We have so many options of ways to punish kids now, what kind of unimaginative parent needs corporal punishment?  Take away the iPhone or the XBox.  Hitting your kids just means you are lazy.  You don’t want to do anything that takes more than a minute of your effort.

#2 – No one wants to give cash to drug addicts.  However, taking welfare or food stamps away from anyone who can’t always give a clean sample is A-overkill and B-stupid.  Imagine the kids of people who can’t plan ahead enough to pass a piss test.  They need every extra bit of help they can get.  Yes, it will probably be used in less than wonderful ways.  But I would like to think at least some of the benefits get through to the kids, and they need all the help they can get.

#3 – God is not going to grant me favors, or conversely, punish me, based on likes or shares.  Duh.  But I do like any God-reminder posts.

#4 – No one is stopping kids from praying in school.  In fact, I can’t remember the last time I was in a school and NOT praying.  That doesn’t mean we need to force it on anyone, which is what you are doing if the teachers or administrators are leading prayers.  America was settled by Europeans who couldn’t stomach the religion forced on them.  Why would we do that now?  Ignorant.

#5 – People just do not think when it comes to immigrants.  I see a lot of complaints that US citizens who cannot afford but will be forced to purchase health insurance will then also be forced to pay for health care for illegal immigrants who don’t have to buy the insurance.  Ummm, OK, then lets register everyone at the border, make them ALL LEGAL, and make them all buy it!  Think of all the young healthy people that would add to the system!  Not to mention contributing to social security, medicare, etc!  Wouldn’t that be great!  OH, you want to CLOSE the borders.  Well good luck with that.  And by the way, how long has your family been here in the US?  And seriously, what kind of people do we need more of here?  I think it would be awesome to have more ambitious, hardworking, risk taking kind of people, like immigrants.  I have never met an immigrant who came here to live off the system.  However, I have certainly met many native born citizens who make great efforts to do so.

#6 – Please stop worshiping the military.  It seems to me the whole concept that as soon as you put on a uniform, you are automatically a hero, is really just wrong.  A hero is what you have done, not what organization you belong to.

Leave a comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

